weekend wanderlust august 8th.

Feeling a bit under the weather today after eating some suspicious spicy red hots (the meat, not the candy) last night, but still managed to get some housework done and I actually remembered to write today’s post!

I also want to wish one of the craziest beer geeks I know a happy birthday. The Jockey (or, in his winter form, Honest Abe) is loud, obnoxious, and knows a good beer when he sees one. He’s good people.

This is one of the (blessedly) slower summer weekends when it comes to festivals in Colorado, and without any brewery openings, I plan on doing some non-beer-related stuff. So that means you’ll need to make up for my slacking!

Trouble I am getting into this weekend

August 9th

I believe the Bearded Brewer (who has requested that we find a new name for him as this one is WAY too generic considering the industry, expect a poll at a later date) will be up camping in the High Country with friends. I have opted out of this activity for my sanity, so I will be flying solo on Saturday. As a result, I have no flippin’ clue what I will be doing. Housework? Watching TV in my pajamas? Visiting some Front Range breweries?

Clearly, I am open to suggestions.

August 10th

Fermentation Fest! This is one of our favorite festivals of the year as it combines breweries with a slew of fermented foods from sauerkraut to cheese. My favorite goody last year was sauerkraut juice (yep!) which was so fantastically good that I’m pretty sure I’m still partially pickled. Watch their video from last year and you may spot a familiar face or two…

Other things going on that sound fun as crap

Chain Reaction Brewing is having yoga and beer on Sunday morning from 10:45am-11:45am. $15 gets you the class and a pint. Now, beer and yoga is a traditional combination here in Colorado, so if you are so inclined, I highly recommend hitting them up. If only more breweries would recognize that beer drinkers don’t always want to get up by 9am on a sleep-in day, like Chain Reaction has. If you’re interested, email zack@chainreactionbrewing.com to reserve your spot.

Winter Park Beer Fest. Honestly, this was in the running for Saturday, but I would hate to go solo (it’s just not as much fun). 30 breweries, music, and you get to escape from the city heat. Unfortunately, it’s out on the asphalt (note to festival organizers: parking lot fests suck hop resin), but it still looks like a good time.

Go forth and wander!

Leave a Reply

